(Work in Progress)
The Guest Operator function allows a subscriber (the "original operator") to give partial control of a Group Session to another person, the "Guest Operator".
The Guest Operator function has three major uses:
- Training in how to use the application, in which the Guest Operator is the trainee and the "original" operator is the trainer.
- The Guest Operator stands in for the original operator for a period of time
- The Guest Operator is given control in order to enter information they are familiar with
Need to use "update" button to see changes
In the current version of the application, changes made by the Guest Operator or by the original operator will not be seen on the other person's screen until the other person clicks on the "update" button, shown here.
It is assumed that in most cases both parties will also be sharing their screens in an online meeting (e.g. Zoom, Webex, etc.) and will see each others changes there.
Important Note - the original operator session must remain active
The subscriber/original operator must keep their Main Page up and running while the Guest Operator function is in use. If the original operator logs off or closes their Main Page browser window then the Guest Operator access will stop.
Instructions for Use
The Guest Operator function is initiated from the Main Page, Main Menu:
The menu entry takes you to this screen, where you enter the email of the person that your are inviting as a guest operator
The Guest will see an email like this:
When they click on the link, they see a screen like this:
The Guest enters the six digit code from the email, and then see this, which is the main page, with the little header indicating that they are in Guest Operator Mode.
The original author sees this, with the message "Pending":
The original operator needs to click refresh on their browser, and then:
- IF the Guest Operator has logged in, the original operator sees this; otherwise they will keep seeing the "Pending" notice.
The original operator can access the controls again
And then IF the Guest Operator has logged in, the original operator will see this next screen, which allows them to Pause or End the Guest Session.
OR they will see the "Pending" version of that screen.
If the original operators pauses the Guest Session, control of the Main Page goes back to the original operators.
After pausing the Guest Session, the original operator sees this screen, which allows them to restart the Guest Operator session:
Page Lock Out
There is a rare situation where subscribers can get locked out of the application if they make themselves the "Guest Operator".
They will receive a message that says "Logging into two separate subscriptions with the same browser 'person' is not allowed."
The workaround is to use the Chrome "Guest" function to access the application. Then report the issue to ActionMap Support (email@example.com).
This link describes how to access the Chrome "Guest" function.